Testing – 1, 2, 3…

A Bloggers Beginning

Am I doing it right?

So, this is my very first, real blog and real blog post. You know, opposed to all those fake blogs out there. I’m going to try to enjoy this, but I’ll admit – I’m not a writer. I’ll probably go on rants every now and then, but mostly you’ll see descriptions of my work, maybe some tutorials I’ve found, some tips I’ve picked up. So here we go.

See that big gap? That’s writer’s block. Not even 5 sentences, and I’m already blocked. I guess I’ll just talk about what I’m trying to do.

I’ve set out on this big project of starting a home business. And I don’t mean ordering stock, marking it up, and shipping it out. I mean hand-selecting, hand-crafting, hand-organizing….and I don’t even have that many hands. I am determined, however. I’ve got a small inventory built up. Decorative vases, jewelry, incense burners, CLOCKS (ok, one clock, but it’s an AWESOME clock.) I’m promoting my stuff any way I can, including this blog (as Etsy experts recommended.) I’ve got plans to take it all down to an artist’s market or craft show…they have them weekly here in El Paso, and I’m sure I can find them when we move to Fort Polk in a year. (Hooray for the military life!) I’m not an expert. In fact, I just started all this about a year ago. I’ve been creative my whole life, but I’ve never really worked at it until recently. I don’t have the greatest amount of experience, but I have a bit of skill, a lot of determination, and I hope to have really taken off in another year. Too ambitious? I certainly hope not.

I’m working on my craft room as I go, and I gotta say, it’s looking pretty good for just starting out. I’m painting and customizing everything myself. None of these IKEA pre-made craft rooms for me. I’m all about the “upcycling” of unwanted items. It even shows in my artwork. I reuse everything, and I try to turn it into something decorative if not useful. Although something I’ve learned recently is that decorations ARE useful. They’re much-needed inspiration, and they can alter your mood. I find that if I’m surrounded by artwork, especially my own, and just daydream for a moment. Just look at everything I’ve made and play music that moves me, ideas just start flowing. Not all of them work, but I’ve picked up a lot of different skills by just trying. I started off working with resin. I thought it was the coolest thing ever. It is VERY useful to know how to work with it, but I found that the fumes were scary to work around, since I was pregnant. In order to make resin pieces, I wanted to cast them in my own molds. So I invested in OOMOO© Silicone, some cheap polymer clay, and some Pearl Ex Powdered Pigments (mica.) From there, I discovered I also loved making molds. I didn’t get too far with that before I discovered I loved sculpting the molds from clay, first. So about 2 or 3 months from the start, I went out and bought my first colors of Premo! Sculpey and I’ve been hooked since then. So from resin, to molds, to clay all from just one idea to cast something in resin. I’ve learned all about mica powder, wire bending, jewelry making, liquid clay, book binding, beading, foil, and tons of different polymer clay techniques. I’ve acquired a pasta machine, an oven, clay of every color imaginable, tools of every kind, embellishments, glazes…just tons of stuff! Compared to what I’ve made, I’ve only sold a few things, but I hope to change that, soon!

One of the things that inspires the hell out of me is YouTube. I normally don’t branch out that far with the social networking craze, but I have to admit – YouTube is one of the most useful sites ever created. I can find tutorials on just about everything I could ever want. And if it’s not tutorials I’m after, it’s chock full of showcases, just basically slide shows of other people’s’ work. It’s better than any book, any single DVD, or any typed tutorial. The only thing better is an actual teacher, and even then, YouTube is like having lots of different teachers, with lots of other ways to do things. I actually do hope to go to some sort of art school one day, but being a stay-at-home-mom makes it difficult. Maybe when I’m literally a military wife, they can help. Anyway, there’s a lot of resources out there, and tapping into them is part of the fun.

I think I’m going to go do that now! How’d I do for my first blog entry?

Leave a Reply

