Back Again

Yes, it’s true, I’m back to write more. I know it’s been a while, but I’ve really got to crack down on keeping up with my writing. I’m not sure where I stood the last time I blogged, but I’ve reached a new point in my career as an artist. I’ve discovered metal clay. I knew about it before, but I thought you needed to have a kiln in order to fire it. You do for some of the metals, but fine silver can be torch fired. Yes sir! I get to continue to sculpt, make into wearable art, incorporate my spirituality into a piece, and when I’m done, I’m left with a solid metal piece that is durable, and gorgeous! No more cheap-feeling polymer clay. I can make real, long-lasting jewelry. And it’s metal! Made from the earth itself, which is very important to me. Thanks to my wonderful semi-husband, I have a kit on the way, and I’ll be getting started on this new medium by the 23rd. I want this to be it. I want it to be the final medium that I kicks my business off. I’ll always be open to learning new skills, new crafts….but I’m tired of being a jack-of-all-trades, and master of none. I want to be a jack-of-all-trades and master of at least one. And I think metal clay could be it. So I’m starting a new Kickstarter project. I have it approved, but I haven’t launched it, yet. I’m going to make it amazing, first. I want to really get myself out there. Let people know what I’m trying to do. I believe in the idea so wholly that I really feel it will reach people, and inspire them. I just think that this is the way for me to do it. If I can build up a clientele, I can keep blogging, and keep creating art that has a story. I can, hopefully, get my message out there through wearable art. So keep an eye out for a link to the project. I’m also open to ideas on how to advertise it. My current plans are to send cards with information about the project to every person who buys something from me. I’m also going to send the same cards to family and friends to hand out to people they know. I’m going to keep blogging, keep throwing the link out there on any site I’m active on. I’ll be sending mass emails to everyone who’s ever bought anything from me (just one, I won’t spam.) I’m thinking about handing out fliers, or just posting them around the city (maybe more around Downtown and the busier sections of the city?) Any ideas are appreciated on how to get this done. I’m serious about what I want to do, and I’m willing to do just about anything to get the funding I need. Even if Kickstarter doesn’t work, I’m going to continue to resell, and work auctions until I build it up. It could take me even a year to get it all, but I’m determined. 

Leave a Reply

